Little Log Cottage School

An Educational Blog to Inspire Creativity, Character, Grit, and the Love of Learning

Pet Week-Lessons and Resources

Leave a comment

Image

Did you know that it is Be Kind to Animals Week?  Once again I have used my trusty “A Year Of Hands-On Science” book to help guide our lessons for the week.  Today I’m sharing what we did with my tots, K5 students, and soon to be second graders!

Here is a glimpse of our day with our friends.

First up is a story written by my upcoming second grader.  In a recent post I wrote about our homeschooling schedule.  In the afternoons while my two younger children rest, my Princess (age 7) uses this time to create.  Last week she wrote a book about her dog.  Today she read it to the class!  It was perfect for our pet day!

 

Image

Image

 

My tots worked really hard on Carisa’s Tot School Letter C printables.

Coloring the letter C’s.

pet weeks3

 

Cutting out the cats.

 

pet weeks5

 

Coloring the cats.  Of coarse, with my 3.9 year olds, I read the color words for them to color.

 

pet weeks6

 

Coloring the objects that begin with the letter C.

 

pet weeks7 pet weeks8

 

We also got out the alphabet puzzle while waiting on the older students to finish their work.

pet weeks9

 

To go along with our cat (pet) theme I also used Carisa’s printables for my K5 students.

Write the missing number.

pet weeks4

 

After we discussed how to take care of our pets, we wrote up a survey.  We visited a few of our neighbors and asked them about their pets.  What kind of pet?  What does your pet eat?  Where does your pet live?  This was a great activity to practice speaking skills.

pet activities1

We found out that one of our neighbors feeds her dogs omelets for breakfast and chicken breasts for dinner!

To end the day, we used a little technology to reinforce what we learned about pets.  Brainpop is a top-notch computer site that teaches math, science, and social studies.  It is not a free site, but I highly recommend it!

pet activities2

After watching the little educational movie about pets, we used the drawing section to draw a picture of the type of pet we would like to have.  Can you believe that all 6 students wanted an unicorn?

pet activities3

Pets and animals are always a great theme to teach with young children.  There are a lot of science concepts that can be taught through these themes.  We love our pets at LLCS!
I was featured for Tot School!
 

Author: Christa Brown

I’m Christa Brown, the Little Log Cottage School teacher. I am a former public school teacher who is continuing to do what I love in my own home! Thanks to a very special collage professor I have a love of putting together engaging thematic units that teaches children in a creative way. I spend my days dreaming and concocting delicious lessons that my students will devour! Here, I write through the week about the adventures that my students and I partake in as we learn about the world around us. I hope that you enjoy this blog and will subscribe via email.

Share what you are doing with your kids!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 256 other followers